Athletic department news

2021-22 School Year Physical Reminder

Every Comstock athlete must have a physical on file with the athletic office that is dated after April 15, 2021 to be able to participate during the 2021-22 school year.  Comstock will not be providing a physical day in August as Bronson Hospital is unable to provide doctors this year.   Please make your appointment with your family doctor or go to a walk in clinic such as WellNow Urgent Care 1634 Gull Rd.  WellNow is open Sunday to Sunday from 8am-8pm and the cost is $25.  Don't wait until the last minute this year.  You can click here to print a physical form to take with you.

HS & MS Winter Sport Start Date

Nov. 8 - HS Sports
V & JV Girls Basketball - TBD
HS Competitive Cheer -5-7pm in HS Cafeteria
MS Competitive Cheer - TBD

Nov. 15 - HS Sports
V & JV Boys Basketball -5-7pm in HS Gym
HS Wrestling -3:30-5pm in Wrestling Room
HS Boys & Girls Bowling -3:15-5pm at Continental Lanes

Please Contact the Head Coach with any questions.

Fall Head Coaches
Football - Jason Hayes - jason.hayes@comstockps.org
Volleyball - Sarah Vanwormer - sevanwormer@gmail.com
Boys Soccer - Justin Ansel - justin.ansel@comstockps.org
Cross Country - Jordan Staley - jordanstaley78@yahoo.com
Girls Golf - Doug Ludwick - doug.ludwick@comstockps.org
Sideline Cheer - Amber DeLoof - deloof.amber246@gmail.com
MS Football - James Brown - james.brown@gmail.com
MS Boys Soccer - Branden Willis - 
bmwillis11@gmail.com
MS Volleyball - Becky Simison - rebecca.simison@comstockps.org
MS Volleyball - Katie Leaders - katie.leaders@comstockps.org
MS Cross Country - Amanda Clapper - amanda.clapper@comstockps.org
MS Sideline Cheer - Lizzy Burch - lizzyb2017@chartner.net

Winter Head Coaches

V Girls Basketball - Clara Robinson - crobinson26@gmail.com
JV Girls Basketball - 
Competitive Cheer - Amber DeLoof - deloof.amber246@gmail.com
V Boys Basketball - Josh Beeke - jbeeke12@yahoo.com
JV Boys Basketball - Bobby Brinkert - bobbybrinkert3@gmail.com
Wrestling -
V Boys & Girls Bowling - Ray DeLeon - h_ddad@yahoo.com
8th Boys Basketball - Larry Allen - larry.allen@comstockps.org
7th Boys Basketball - Justin Ansel - justin.ansel@comstockps.org
6th Boys Basketball - Diante Gardner - tegardner.dg@gmail.com
8th Girls Basketball - Ahkyla Blakely - ahkyla.blakely@comstockps.org
7th Girls Basketball - Justin Ansel - anselj@comstockps.org
6th Girls Basketball - Arreona Blakely - blakelya@comstockps.org
MS Wrestling - Ethan Ketelaar - mhj6692@gmail.com 
MS Competitive Cheer - Lizzy Burch - lizzyb2017@chartner.net


Spring Head Coaches

Baseball - Jeremy Followell - jeremy.w.followell@gmail.com
Softball - Becky Simison - simisonr@comstockps.org 
Girls Tennis - Ethan Ketelaar - mhj6692@gmail.com
Track & Field - Jordan Staley - jordanstaley78@yahoo.com
Boys Golf - Doug Ludwick - ludwickd@comstockps.org
Girls Soccer - Dean Walker - aeonblue08@gmail.com
MS Girls Soccer -
MS Track - Amy Hall - hallam@comstockps.org

Hall of Fame Nominations
The Comstock Hall of Fame committee is accepting nominations for the 2022 induction.  Nominations must be received by the athletic director by November 1 to be included in the process for the 2022 induction.  A nomination form  can be found online at www.comstockps.org/halloffame
. Please call Justin Ansel with any questions at 269- 250-8711.

Sportsmanlike Expectations

A good sport is a true leader within the school and the community. As an athlete, parent or fan of our school, the following points represent sportsmanship behavior you shall display:

  1. Accept and understand the seriousness of your responsibility and the privilege of representing your school and community. Conduct yourself in an exemplary manner before, during, and after contests and events.

  2. Players should learn the rules of their sport thoroughly and discuss them with parents, fans, fellow students, and elementary students to assist in achieving a better understanding and appreciation of the competition.

  3. Treat opponents the way you would like to be treated.

  4. Omit intimidating behavior, including taunting, or making any kind of derogatory remarks to your opponents during the game, especially comments of ethnic, racial, or sexual nature. This is not acceptable behavior.

  5. Wish opponents good luck before the game in a sincere manner.

  6. Respect the integrity and judgment of game officials. Treating them with respect, even if you disagree with their judgment, will make a positive impression of you, your team, and your school in the eyes of the officials and all people at the event.

  7. Win with humility; lose with grace. Do both with dignity.

  8. Athletic events are among the most popular school activities for participants and spectators. These games and competitions provide another learning experience in life. Integrity, fairness, respect, and the principles of good sportsmanship are lifetime values enhanced through athletics.

  9. Parents need to wait 24 hours before approaching a coach with issues from a contest. This gives ample time for both the parent and coach to reflect on the contest and be able to discuss the issue rationally.

  10. It is expected that all fans and athletes conduct themselves in an orderly and self-disciplined manner at all times, both on and off school property throughout the calendar year. Appearance and personal hygiene should be appropriate for travel and other team appearances and consistent with the expectations of the coach, school district, and other team members.

Follow Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Subscribe to Our Youtube E-Mail Us

information

Comstock Athletics
Justin Ansel, Director

2107 N. 26th Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49048

Phone: (269) 250-8711
Fax: (269) 250-8713 

DISTRICT news